Derrick Rose, Adidas are “All-In” This Season

In a new Ad, Derrick Rose asks the questions; "Have I done enough to get my name on a shoe? Or deserve the world lifting me up when I was down? Can I give my city the ultimate thank you?

In a new Ad, Derrick Rose asks the questions; “Have I done enough to get my name on a shoe? Or deserve the world lifting me up when I was down? Can I give my city the ultimate thank you?

By Kevin Gray

If fans of the NBA know one thing about the sport they love, it’s that there is no half way in this sport. If you don’t give more than 100% every game, every practice, every time you do an interview, etc, you will not survive in this league. That is why fans have embraced a player like Derrick Rose. With Rose, it’s not a matter of cheering for a team, but wanting success for a player no matter which city he represents. It’s an honor that few have had, and even less have lived up to it in their career. The love that people have bestowed on D.Rose is about to see it hardest test to date as Rose prepares to return to the court after a year absence due to a torn ACL. You see, in this game, very few fans will abandon you while your down and out, but when you comeback, they expect you to be exactly what you were before, if not better. If you doubt that the fans can turn on a star quickly, I advise you to look at Tracy McGrady  and Greg Oden. Both of these stars came into the league with tremendous fanfare and great initial success (more so in the case of McGrady who played multiple seasons before getting hurt). For both of those stars, much was expected of them upon their return, and year after year, their body would not let them be who they once were. Soon fans would either not care when their names came up or they forgot them all together. In the case of Rose, we have already seen spectacular things from him in practice, but as the recently retired legend Allen Iverson would say, “Practice? We talking ’bout practice, not a game.”

One thing is for sure, It will take a lot for Derrick Rose to be accused of not giving his all. We know Derrick’s work ethic, we see that he eats, sleeps, and breathes the game. As you see and hear in the video above, even Derrick realizes that doubt has crept into the mind of some. As fans, we can only hope that he is “All-In,” mind, body, and soul. As for those who still have doubt, remember this message come June 2014; “It’s time to remind the world that even though I wasn’t on the court, I never left the game.” — Derrick Rose

Leave a Reply

